Doodle-ing is What I Love Doing

by wanderingsurrealist

Doodle-ing has been a form of relaxation for me. I never had any formal art classes except from those visual techniques classes we had in architecture school. Which was basically freestyle classes – draw this, render this and that, do your own thing, professors we had didn’t teach us the right techniques. Sink or swim. Haha But I loved it. Got high marks on those classes! 🙂

I recall back in hs, I was in this group where we sat at the back of the classroom and pass around this notebook and talk about random stuff. Each member thought of a character he liked that time and drew his character whenever chatting. My character was a winged sorcerer. We all had different styles in drawing which was fun. It was crazy in a cool way. Our characters were pretty much inclined with PlayStation RPGs we loved playing back then. Very nostalgic. Prior to this, grade school days, we played this anime card game – Dragon Ball Z to be exact. Me and my brother tried to copy the characters on every card. 🙂

As I started working, I got this habit of doodle-ing random shapes then add shades and shadows or apply techniques I learned from my friends in college. I often do this during my meetings or whenever I feel like spacing out. 🙂 I think I’m a seasonal insomniac. Mind you, I fall asleep quickly. My college friends even told me I have natural valiums in my system. 😉 But from time to time, I get these sleepless nights. 2011 was the year I learned so many things about myself – what I want to do more of in general. Writing and doing more of art (sketching & painting) are a couple on the list. December of 2011, I decided to document these doodles since I’ve been doing a lot. And couldn’t sleep that moment. :p

This a time-lapse drawing which I call “Midnight Snack: Fish Doodle” – markers & colored pencils on paper

20120917-231435.jpg

20120917-231523.jpg

20120917-233245.jpg

20120917-233338.jpgThis is the first time (I think) I noticed that my style is somewhat textured. The pisces sign was present again – still perfecting this ’til now. Random shapes and patterns with hint of colors (which were the only survivors of my colored pencil set from college. Lol). Just went with the flow until the page was covered with these randomness.

Me and my weird imagination. Telling more about myself. ‘Til then! 🙂